Limonas (Saint Ignatios) Monastery | Lesbos
Updated: Nov 6, 2019
It is a men's monastery situated in the center of the island of Lesvos, founded during Byzantine years and operated until Ottoman occupation.
In 1526, the monastery was founded again by Saint Ignatios Agallianos, hosting also the "Limonia School" (closed in 1920s). It has three basilicas and it is decorated with interesting wall paintings of the 16th - 17th centuries. It has a unique wooden templon, and today it hosts a significant library with manuscripts.